High fructose corn syrup – the Devil’s candy

February 23, 2007

Okay, okay, I know the intent of this blog was supposed to be trans fat, but really, I couldn’t resist. Way back in my first entry, you may remember how I mentioned what I had learned from Dr. Oz on that Oprah show. Well, he also mentioned high fructose corn syrup (HFCS). Or, as I like to call it, the Devil’s candy.

Basically, what Dr. Oz said on the show can be found in his book, You: the Owners Manual:

“One of the biggest evil influences on our diet is the presence of high-fructose corn syrup (HFCS), a sugar substitute that itself is a sugar found in soft drinks and many other sweet, processed foods. The problem is that HCFS inhibits leptin secretion, so you never get the message that you’re full. And it never shuts off gherin, so, even though you have food in your stomach, you constantly get the message that you’re hungry.”

Wait, let me read this again. Not only am I not getting messages that I’m full, I’m also getting messages that I’m hungry? Niiiiiiiiiiiiice.

But wait! That’s not all. That’s just the beginning. Other fun effects include:

  • Fructose interacts with oral contraceptives and elevates insulin levels of women who are taking these.
  • Fructose leads to mineral loss.
  • In lab studies, rats that were given fructose had more undesirable cross-linking changes (thought to be the markers for aging) in the collagen of their skin than in the other groups.
  • Fructose converts to fat more than any other sugar.
  • Fructose raises serum triglycerides.
  • To be completed converted into glucose and acetates, fructose must take ATP energy stores from the liver.
Leave a Reply

